Limerick Leader notes 18/04

Bord na Og U 12 Football Cappamore 3-4 Oola 3-5 In a very entertaining game Cappamore were very unlucky to loose by a point to Oola.For the 1st game of the year the boys gave a great performance and can look forward to a good year. The players were Jamie Fahy Matthew O Malley Tommie Meehan Seamus Hanley Arron Roleston Ultan Hogan Mikie Fitzgibbon Michael Ryan Sean Hayes James McCarthy James O Sullivan Joe Smith Jonny Meehan Sam Scott Luke Scott Donnacha Ryan L Donnacha Hogan Luke Ryan Jack O Donnell . Thanks to referee Patsy Coffey

Feile football final Killacolla Gaels 2-9 Cappamore 1-2 Cappamore came up against a well drilled Killacolla Gaels team in the county final.We trailed from the off and missed a couple chance early on,however the boys fought to the end and did the club proud. Team Josh O Connor Michael Gleeson Reece O Malley Pj Hogan Sean Lynch Sean Whelan Liam Kett Mickey Daly Eoin Smith Ciaran Kennedy Paddy McMahon Shane Duggan Liam O Donnell Tadhg Ryan Mickie Fitzgibbon subs Diarmuid Blackwell Adam Meehan Doug Howell Sean Hayes

Cappamore u 10 team played in their first football blitz of the year at the ul campus last Friday evening in dry but cold conditions. We played mungret in two well contested games and finished with fine performance against near neighbours pallasgreen. > Team: Alex Heney, Cathal Mulcahy, Cillian O’ Dwyer, David Meehan, Jack O Donnell, Jacob Wright, Jake Slattery, Michael Berkery, Thomas Shanahan, Evan Coleman Ben Ryan.

Minor Hurling Championship

Cappamore 1-14, Ahane 2-10.

Cappamore recorded a well deserved 1 point victory over Ahane in the first round of the Minor championship. Playing against the wind Cappamore found themselves 3 points in arrears early on. Liam Creamer got Cappamore’s opening score followed by a point from Denis O’ Donoghue. 3 more points from Ahane saw them take a 4 point lead. With the full back line preventing any goal chances, Jack Sheehan in command at centre back, the half backs of Conor O’ Brien and Jamie McCarthy hurling well and Ben Leonard with Jason Fitzgibbon working well in midfield, Cappamore responded with some lovely scores from Jason Fitzgibbon (2) and Donal O’ Mahoney. Cappamore had the ball in the net from Jack Leonard but was disallowed before Ahane added a goal and a point to lead at the break 1-7 to 0-5.

2 points from Liam Creamer got Cappamore off to a good start in the 2nd half. A goal from Ahane saw them take a commanding 6 point lead. Liam Creamer, now operating at centre forward, added 4 points in a row to cut the deficit to 2. The Thompson brothers, James and Daniel, were added to the attack. This was soon followed by a goal from full forward Kevin Ryan to give Cappamore a 1 point lead. Ahane levelled before Cappamore took the lead again with a point from the hard working Matthew Ryan. 2 points from Ahane saw them retake the lead but Liam Creamer, in super form, added 2 more points, along with a good save from David Holmes, gave Cappamore a well earned victory.

TEAM: David Holmes, Gearoid Hogan, Paul Campbell, Conor Fitzgibbon, Jamie McCarthy, Jack Sheehan, Conor O’ Brien, Ben Leonard (Capt), Jason Fitzgibbon (0-2), Liam Creamer (0-9), Matthew Ryan (0-1), Donal O’ Mahoney (0-1), Jack Leonard, Kevin Ryan (1-0), Denis O’ Donoghue (0-1). Subs: James Thompson, Daniel Thompson

county football league result Cappamore 2-6 Kilteely/Dromkeen 0-6

county hurling league result Cappamore 1-12 Glenroe 4-15

Camogie Clothes collection Sunday 8th may outside Community Centre

Well done to the intermediate team defeating Galbally with an impressive score line of 4-17 to 1-7 to advance to the league semi final.


10 14 15 29

Michael Finbarr Blackwell Michael & Mary Blackwell
Maureen Ryan Kathleen O’ Malley, c/o Mike O’ Malley
Enda O’ Mahoney, Dromalty John Foley, c/o Tony Foley
Liam Fraher, Pallasgreen John O’ Brien, c/o Matthew O’ Malley
Elizabeth Shanahan John O’ Dea, Towerhill

IN MADDENS BAR @ 10.30 pm
Sponsored by Cullen Insurances, Newport
Thank you for your support

© Cappamore GAA Building towards 2030