Leader Notes

County Hurling League Division 3

Sunday April 8th in Cappamore

Croom V Cappamore
2-15 to 2-18
The seniors played Croom in the 2nd round of the league. This was a much better performance by the team from the previous outing. Points from Con Berkery, Bill Creamer, Dan Shanahan and Jason Fitzgibbon along with a goal from young Fitzgibbon gave Cappamore a 3 point lead at half time. A 2nd half goal from Dan Shanahan helped Cappamore to a 2-18 to 2-15 win.
TEAM: Sean McMahon, Jack Campbell, John Ryan (V), Eoin O’ Donoghue, Pa Doyle, Peter O’ Brien, David Lonergan, Bill Creamer (0-2), Con Berkery (0-5), Joe Lonergan, Conor Sheehan (0-1), Adam Coleman (0-1), Jason Fitzgibbon (1-2), Kevin Ryan, Dan Shanahan (1-5). Subs: Jack Sheehan, Ben Leonard, Declan Deere, Tommy O’ Donoghue (0-2).

Feile Na Ngeal Iomaint B Final

Sat April 7th in Cappamore
Cappamore V Kilmallock

4-6 to 5-5

What was always going to be a tight and hard fought match lived up to its expectations. Cappamore got off to a fine start with a well taken point from Mike Fitzgibbon. Kilmallock were quick to step things up and we found ourselves trailing by a goal from their ever threatening forward line.

A great puck out by Jamie Fahy found Mikie Fitzgibbon who after a fantastic run finished to the net. The scores were coming quick with Kilmallock scoring a goal and 2 points before halftime. Then the Cappamore full forward line clicked into gear with all 3 scoring before half time Joe smith and Michael Ryan with a goal each and Evan Coleman scoring a fine point. Score at half time Cappamore up 4-02 to 2-02.

Kilmallock got the second half off to a flyer with 2 well taken points and looked to take over, however with Ultan Hogan leading the way Cappamore with points from Donnacha Hogan, Mikie Fitzgibbon and Sean Hayes replied with interest. Unfortunately as we entered the final few minutes we tired and the always dangerous Kilmallock forwards got the important scores. Jamie Fahy in the Cappamore goals pulled off some great saves but the pressure told and Kilmallock ran out winners by 2 points, 5-05 to 4-06.

Team: Jamie Fahy, Sam Scott, Arron Roulston, Tommie Meehan, James Mccarthy, Matthew O’Malley, Seamus Hanley, Ultan Hogan, Captain Sean Hayes, Donnacha Hogan, Mikie Fitzgibbon, Luke Ryan, Michael Ryan, Joe Smith, Evan Coleman. SUBS James Sullivan, Johny Meehan, Luke Scott, Jack O Donnell, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Dillon

As you would expect with two traditional hurling clubs involved a great crowd was present to witness a very entertaining match.

East Minor Football Championship

Friday 13th April in Cappamore.
Cappamore V Caherconlish
3-5 to 3-9

Cappamore minor Football team got there 2018 season started with a game against Caherconlish. While we started brightly we failed to get scores on the board until ten minutes into the game when Kevin Doyle scored the opening point. This was soon followed up with a second from the same player. Caherconlish then began to come into the game and got a point back but followed with a number of wides. Cappamore then went back up the field to get another point this time form the boot of Shane Duggan. This score was followed by three points from Caherconlish to leave the score four points to three. The first goal of the game came from Cappamore which started with a kick out from Michael Daly and Cappamore working the ball all of the way up the field where it was finished to the net. However Caherconlish responded in turn to move a quick goal in reply to leave the scores 1-4 to 1-3 at half time.
Cappamore again started the second half well and scored the opening two points to leave the scores at 1-5 to 1-4. This was followed up with two points from Caherconlish before Cappamore scored their second goal of the game due to a through a great solo effort by Rhys O’Malley. This was followed up by two further points by Caherconlish before Cappamore registered another green flag to leave the scores 3-5 to 1-8.
Meanwhile Caherconlish scored a free to reduce the scores. Unfortunately Caherconlish finished the game stronger and scored two goals in the final stages to win on a score line of 3-9 to 3-5.
Michael Daly, Seán Lynch, Gearoid Mulcahy, Conor Fitzgibbon, James Lynch, Jack Sheehan, Michael Moore, Donal O’Mahony, Shane Kett, Denis O’Donoghue, Eoin Smith, Shane Duggan, Rhys O’Malley, Kevin Doyle, Eoin McCarthy, Sub: David Holmes.
Thanks to team Manager Diarmuid Sheehy for the match report.

Con and Annie Kirby Memorial

Unfortunately the Cappamore greyhound ‘Cash is King’ didn’t get through the semi final on Saturday night in the Con and Annie Memorial race.


Numbers drawn:
18, 20, 25, 27

Billy Ryan, Bilboa William Moroney, Main St, Bell McCarthy, Farnane Nora Berkery, c/o Tony Foley, Colin Sheehy, Cooga Michael Finbar Blackwell, Sally Ryan, Killuragh Ray Power, Croughlahan, Joe, Sarah-Mai & Paddy Bourke, Farnane Ignatius Walsh

IN MADDENS BAR @ 10.30 pm

© Cappamore GAA Building towards 2030