leader notes

Camogie county Senior B league final Cappamore 2-13 Ballyagran 1-14

Cappamore had a great victory in the Camogie Senior B league final defeating Ballyagran in Banogue this evening after coming back from an 8 point deficit at half time. Playing against the breeze Cappamore were 2 points behind early on but points from Elaine Berkery, Lisa Leonard and Muireann Creamer had the teams level on 3 points each after 15 mins. Ballyagran took control of the game for the rest of the half and led 1-9 to 0-4 at half time with Cappamores other score coming from Elaine Berkery. The second half started with a point from Elaine Berkery followed by another from Lisa Leonard. Ballyagran added 2 points but Marie Berkery responded with a superb point. With an assured Cathy Maher in goals, the Cappamore backs playing well and Claire Keating playing a captains role, Lisa Leonard added another point before Muireann Creamer rattled the net bringing Cappamore right back into the game, 1-8 to 1-11. Ballyagran pointed again before Lisa Leonard reduced the deficit again to 3. Molly Hammersley levelled with a goal with 12 mins left after a super run from Lisa Leonard. Ballyagran went back into the lead, but Cappamore were then harshly reduced to 14 players after a second yellow. All the Cappamore players responded so well. Muireann Creamer levelled with a point and Elaine Berkery put Cappamore into the lead for the first time amid great excitement. Cappamore finished the game really strongly with Lizzy O’ Dwyer adding 2 points to cement a great victory for the ladies. Captain Claire Keating accepted the trophy for the team.

Well done to all on what was a great team performance.

TEAM: Cathy Maher, Emily Sheehy, Aislinn O’ Malley, Siobhain Berkery, Lisa English, Claire Keating, Aimee O’ Brien, Marie Berkery (0-1), Elaine Berkery (0-4), Lisa Leonard (0-4), Muireann Creamer (1-2), Liz O’ Dwyer (0-2), Roisin O’ Malley, Molly Hammersley (1-0), Orla Lonergan. Subs: Emily Troy, Roisin McKenna, Brid Berkery, Aoife O’ Malley, Sarah Ryan, Fiona Holmes, Michelle Berkery, Aislinn Heffernan, Anna Ryan, Katie Hayes, Niamh Berkery.

Management: Dan McKenna, Daniel O’ Donnell


Cappamore suffered a 5 point defeat to Athea in the county Intermediate football Championship played in Ballyagran on Friday evening. Athea got the better start getting a 2 point lead early on. Cappamore had missed a few chances before Andy Murphy got Cappamores first score followed by another from Bill Creamer. Athea went into a 3 point lead before Con Berkery levelled with a goal after a superb run from half back. Brian Fitzgerald added another point but Athea finished the half stongly scoring 1-2 without reply to give them a 5 point lead at half time. Playing some lovely football Cappamore were well in the game in the second half. 2 points from Tommy O’ Donoghue and 5 more points from Andy Murphy had Cappamore level with less than 10 mins left. Unfortunately Cappamore failed to score anymore and Athea added 5 points to give them the win.

TEAM: Brian Leahy, Denis Keating, Diarmaid Sheehy, Kieran Hanley, Con Berkery (1-0), Conor Sheehan, Jack Campbell, Sean Sheehy, Bill Creamer (0-1), Ben Leonard, Brian Fitzgerald (0-1), Tommy O’ Donoghue (0-2), Eoin O’ Donoghue, Andy Murphy (0-6), Kevin Ryan. Subs: Liam Walsh, Denis Leonard Paul Leahy Arron Daly

Cappamore GAA club will host a Kelloggs GAA Cul Camp on Mon 3rd – Fri 7th July10:00am to 2:30pm
Attendance is open to primary school children aged 6 years to 13 years.
If you would like your child to learn the skills of hurling and football or indeed develop them, then why not book your child a place.
The camp is ran in a fun way where children will not only learn the skills but also make lots of friends and burn off lots of energy.
Cost: €60 for 1st Child, €50 for 2nd Child, €40 for third Child and subsequent Children
Bookings can be made online at https://www.kelloggsculcamps.gaa.ie

For any queries contact Eoghan Bourke at 087 2420327

GREEN AND GOLD LOTTO DRAW HELD ON APRIL 24th 1 5 24 31 JACKPOT: €6200 NO WINNER LUCKY DIP WINNERS OF €20 EACH Jimmy Healy, Mullally Lawn Kathleen O’ Malley, c/o Mike O’ Malley Joanne Quish, Mullally Grove Richard Clarke, Moore St Tom Grant, Cappamore Cian – AFK, Moore St Charles Family, Ballycoshown Fionnuala Bourke, c/o Liam Creamer Paddy Cummins, Ballycoshown Phil Berkery, c/o Tony Foley

© Cappamore GAA Building towards 2030